2009 Winners Announced

The 2009 West Coast Ragtime Society Youth Ragtime Piano Competition was held on November 7, at Trinity Cathedral in Sacramento. Students, ranging in age from 8 to 16, gathered in four divisions to play. This competition served one of the goals of the WCRS, which is to foster and encourage young pianists to play and enjoy ragtime. Judging were Jack Bradshaw, Tom Brier and Petra Sulivan.

Click on the image at right to view the Sacramento Bee web video report about the 2009 WCRS Youth Piano Competition.
If a different video is showing, find the image on the video scroll bar at the bottom of the web page and click on it to start the video.

The 2009 place winners were:
  Division 1 (ages 8-10)
    First - Ashley Kim - Missouri Rag (Martha Mier) 
Second - Melody Mei - Garden City Rag (Judy East Wells)
Honorable Mention - Lilian Chen- Ragamuffin (Eugenie Rocherolle) 
Honorable Mention - Sean Mignosa - Dandelion Rag (Martha Mier)
Honorable Mention - Sana Shrikant - Peppermint Rag (Martha Mier)
Honorable Mention- Adeline Zhou - Persnickety Rag (Martha Mier)

  Division 2A (ages 11-14 - Junior)
    First - Augustine Nguyen - Tuxedo Jazz (Martha Mier) 
First - Namkha Nguyen - Steamboat Rag (Martha Mier) 
Second - Victor Chen - Maple Leaf Rag (Scott Joplin/arr. A. Small)
Honorable Mention - Mihir Sharma - Banjo Twang (Charles Drumheller, arr. J. Schaum)
Honorable Mention - Avinash Thangali - Triple-T Rag (Melody Bober)


Division 2B (ages 11-14 - Classic)

    First - Jamison Sloan - Graceful Ghost (William Bolcom)
Second - Alexander Fang - A Breeze from Alabama (Scott Joplin)
Second - Ella Pearson - Weeping Willow (Scott Joplin)
Honorable Mention - Katrina Hill - Eli Greenís Cakewalk (Sadie Koninsky)
Honorable Mention -Shayon Konjkav - Smokey Mokes (Abraham Holzmann)
Honorable Mention - Shivani Sharma - Chevy Chase (Eubie Blake)


Division 3 (15-18)

    First - Linda Zhang - Peacherine Rag (Scott Joplin)
Second - William Perkins - Texas Foxtrot (David Guion) 
Honorable Mention - Vincent Johnson - Sunshine From My Fingers (Zez Confrey)
Honorable Mention - Wendy Sun - Weeping Willow (Scott Joplin)